Day 48: In a Product Manager’s shoes

The grass is greener…

As is the Singaporean condition, we (or maybe I shouldn’t generalise – I it is) always complain that so-and-so could be doing a better job. I definitely saw my fair share and even harboured some of those thoughts before – as a Product Marketing type, you sometimes question Product decisions made.

Now on the other side as a Product Manager though, I see how this could happen: misaligned priorities, especially if the PM handles a few products – some users just aren’t as important, and that is just a matter of fact; lack of time for planning and getting feedback, which leads to the PM prioritizing certain decisions over others or not having enough time to think it through thoroughly (golly, what a sentence that was).

The challenge for me is, now that I have a greater hand in this product, and potentially more time (not as much project juggling for me), can I change the way things have been done for the better?

It’s gonna get exciting.


I jumped from Product Marketing to Product Management at Zalora recently. These posts represent a journal of my learnings and reflections. Feel free to connect on Twitter @wasabigeek.

Leave a Reply

