Product Manager Day 83: The best memory device lies outside the head

Memory is not one of my strong points, and lately I’ve been thinking whether to err on the side of suspicion when discussing with people.

I’m probably not the only one with poor memory – some people go to the extent of having strong, genuine convictions for a memory that was entirely false. (some not necessarily excluding me, but since I don’t remember…)

Sometimes this rears it’s head in arguments with colleagues over who remembered the correct commitment/version of events. And that’s why E-mail or some form of written confirmation is important. It’s not always the other party trying to cheat you, after all – you can genuinely believe something false happened.

I’ve been trying to go by good faith, but I think I’d better start documenting more of these “conversations” or commitments down. At the end of the day, reputation is at stake, and you can’t stand up for yourself if you can’t even remember what was discussed.


I jumped from Product Marketing to Product Management at Zalora recently. These posts represent a journal of my learnings and reflections. Feel free to connect on Twitter @wasabigeek.

Leave a Reply

