Product Manager Day 113 Challenge Log

Some people like to keep a “done” list. Today I thought I’d just log some of the challenges faced today:

  • A whole morning breezing by without me getting much real work done (by my definition) – standup, 2 stakeholder visits for clarifications, getting pinged on Skype for troubleshooting and bam! Lunch.
  • Following up on triage actionables is a lot harder than I thought; did manage to speak to a stakeholder with some actionables (low priority) and more questions
  • Lost on how to handle the backlog prioritisation – till now we’ve mostly been taking feature / improvement requests from stakeholders; trying to apply the scrum methodology of bringing stories to the table is new for me. Perhaps I need to look at a more dual-track system? A problem is how to prioritise between stories and features / improvements / bugs
  • Knowing that our release will probably be delayed – somehow… we had less story points than the last but looks like they’re pretty off this time round.
  • Stakeholder coming to me with a problem, but is not able to completely articulate how we could go about solving it – basically that the database is structured in a way that is difficult to generate the necessary reports. My “complaint” is more about the difficulty/effort in finding a solution. So we’re gonna start talking to some people for help and opinions – I hope it leads somewhere!

I jumped from Product Marketing to Product Management at Zalora recently. These posts represent a journal of my learnings and reflections. Feel free to connect on Twitter @wasabigeek.

2 comments

  1. Aaron Sanders · May 29, 2014

    Dual-track may help, so might story mapping and so might regular backlog refinement meetings. In each case, you might want to consider- can the rest of the team collaborate and help?

  2. wasabigeek · May 29, 2014

    Thanks Aaron. I’m curious how scrum works if the product team is prioritizing, but not the stakeholder/customer (I’m working on an internal system). The consideration was one track for the business stories, which they prioritise then we think through implementation, and another track for other stuff like usability improvements etc. What’s your thought on this?

Leave a Reply

