Day 168: The Sailboat

image

Reactive is how I would describe today.

I wonder if other Product Managers have these sort of days too. You know, the ones where you’re like a sailboat, tossed by the waves, going where the wind blows.

Today:
– met with my boss and a UX-pert here on internship, and realized I had to quickly arrange some more meetings to make most of her time and expertise
– got a few pings from stakeholders on how systems worked
– got an email and a new big task to do after discussing
– realized planning/backlog meeting was the next day, and many of the major tickets were not ready (partially on the stakeholder end)

Not unproductive, but not very directed either. The feeling was that of uncertainty over my decisions today, a lack of control – where I was putting my time, whether the tickets prioritised were in the most impact fun order etc.

Maybe it’s normal to have days like this. It’s not comfortable though!


I thought Marketing was going to be my life. I was wrong. These posts represent a journal of my learnings and reflections as a Regional Product Manager in Zalora – you can keep track of my journey by joining the mailing list here.

Leave a Reply

